“I wanted to thank you for being you and for doing what you do. I lived in the shadows of everyone I considered to be greater than myself. I wallowed in self pity and hatred and for what? I am a healthy 21 year old girl, I have a good facial bone structure and pretty eyes (I had been asked to model at one point). I have a nice body shape and limbs that work perfectly. I excel at art and literature and my singing voice has been compared to women who have sung at the Met and yet I still felt as if I wasn’t good enough.

I have hypothyroidism. Loosely defined it is an under-active thyroid gland. Symptoms include, but are not limited to, eczema, weight gain, poor skin condition (breakouts), sluggishness, memory loss (I began having trouble remembering easy words and speaking was difficult for me due to stuttering), fatigue, muscle weakness, cold intolerance, irritability and depression. I used this diagnosis as a crutch for my self pity. “Everyone feel bad for me and care for me, because I am ill”. Shortly after my diagnosis my best friend became very ill and was hospitalized for quite some time until they finally diagnosed her with Multiple Sclerosis. She remained happy and positive through it all. Here was my best friend of 17 years who was only a week younger than me and she was far more ill than I and she was still upbeat. I wish that had been my turning point, but no, I remained selfish and pitied only myself. Don’t get me wrong, I did feel bad for her, but I was so sucked up in my own “tragedy” that I couldn’t see past my “flaws”. After a few more low points a turning point finally came and I began to do research on how to be happy and how to lead a better life.
One night I was using the StumbleUpon tool bar and stumbled on your movie The Butterfly Circus. I cried. I can’t tell you how much I cried. I showed it to all of my friends and it even got my 26 year old, 200lb, 6’2, trucker, punk attitude brother to cry. A few days after that I was in borders and I ran back to use the restroom. As I was walking back towards the front I saw your smiling face radiating from the cover of a book propped up in one of the center isle tables. My breath caught in my throat. It was a sign, I knew it. I bought your book and started reading it the next day. That first day I cried 4 times and I was only 28 pages in. Since then I have been doing more and more research on how to lead a proper life. How to practice compassion and understanding and how to improve my physical life as well. I get up at 6 a.m. twice a week to practice yoga at ESU with my best friend, Diana, to help support her as the yoga helps her regain the balance that MS took from her. Your story about the unicorn with no wings inspired me to write poetry again. And your words have inspired me to write a blog that I share with my friends that is centered around positivity and physical and emotional health. It is called “Positive Mantra: Explore, Experience and Live”.
I used my “disability” as a crutch and now I am a crutch to those who I love.
Thank you <3″

The Butterfly Circus

