I have blackheads.

Bum bum bum!

There, I said it.
I have blackheads. I have them all over my face actually. A sheet of them lays across my nose like a blanket of large, open pores and they are scattered across my face in random spots, mainly focusing their attention on my chin and forehead, but also frequenting such hot spots as the apples of my cheeks and the underside of my jaw. How embarrassing.

I first noticed the offending blemishes when I was may be 9 or 10 and at Camp Hidden Lake for the summer. My hand brushed across my face and I felt bumps. I didn’t know what they were at the time, but I did know that having them there made me feel as if I were different, a freak. “Where did they come from?” and, “Does anyone else have them?” were my first questions to myself. I remember the feelings, but not the exact words. So, bear with me here.

Since then, I have been fighting a constant battle with my skin, a losing battle. I have tried a multitude of products including some heavy hitters; Proactive and Murad. None of which worked for me, though they seemed to work great for others.

Here, I am going to stop the post to give you a little back story. For a couple of years I was lost. I didn’t know what I was doing or where I was going with life and I kept feeling like happiness and things would come to me if I just wished hard enough. Well, it wont. To get something done, you have to do it. To be motivated, you have to get up and motivate yourself. No outside force can do it for you. You have to be your own driving force. As soon as I realized this I started my journey to be who I always knew I could be. First step, be skinny. Along the way that goal has changed to being healthier. I realized that being healthier was a better motivator than the shallow idea of being skinny. And, hopefully, one day being fit and fitting into my old jeans will be a product of being healthier.

So, on my journey to being healthier I began eating more natural foods (no fried foods or overly processed foods) and trying more natural remedies for what ailed me. It was then that I stumbled upon apple cider vinegar for clearing blackheads. I can’t recall what website first told me of the remedy, but many sites that I have checked agree with the original idea.

“Apple Cider Vinegar – Though most people that use vinegar to treat acne use the apple cider form of vinegar, you can also use plain old regular vinegar. Regardless of which type you use, vinegar can be very helpful when it comes to clearing up acne. It can kill off acne causing bacteria, balance your skin’s pH, and absorb extra oil on your skin.

Starting with clean, dry skin, apply diluted vinegar (eight parts water to one part vinegar) directly to your skin with a cotton ball, and leave it on. If you want, you can also use a stronger vinegar solution (say, 2 or 3 parts water to 1 part vinegar), and apply it directly to problem areas, rinsing it off after ten minutes.” 1

So, now I am trying it for myself. A few days into the treatment and my face does feel better and look a wee bit better and I feel better emotionally because I know that it is natural and I am not rubbing chemicals all over my face.

After more research on different topics I realized that apple cider vinegar is good for damn near whatever ails you.
I was looking up a natural way to clean and deodorize your arm pits and found that washing them with apple cider vinegar and splashing on some baby powder should work (I also throw some essential oils on under there for a nice clean smell).

Have a weight problem? Mix one tablespoon of apple cider vinegar with 16 oz of water and two tablespoons of honey and, voila! A natural way to detox your body and gradually lose weight.

“No one is really sure how apple cider vinegar works to promote weight loss, but there is no shortage of theories.

It is generally believed that the nutrients, enzymes, and organic acids in apple cider vinegar cause weight reduction by acting as an appetite suppressant, by increasing your body’s metabolic rate, by reducing water retention, and by helping you maintain a feeling of well being.” 2

There is no hard evidence that proves this theory, however. A study done by researchers in Japan is, perhaps, the only evidence of it’s potential.

“The only research I’ve seen suggesting that vinegar may help reduce fat was a study published in the July 8, 2009, issue of the Journal of Agricultural and Food Chemistry. Japanese researchers reported that they had put laboratory mice on a high-fat diet and fed them acetic acid, the main component of vinegar. Another group of mice on the same high-fat diet received water, not acetic acid. Both groups of mice gained weight but those on the vinegar “diet” put on up to 10 percent less body fat than the others. The researchers said that the acetic acid may turn on genes for fatty acid oxidation enzymes. Theoretically, this would result in the production of proteins that can break down fats and therefore suppress body fat accumulation. Additional research will be needed to confirm these results and determine if acetic acid can help humans slow weight gain.” 3

My thoughts are though, what is the harm? As long as you don’t overdo it and use it in conjunction with a healthy lifestyle, results are sure to follow.

Taking a step back from myself and viewing this from another’s point of view I realize that I must sound like the dad from My Big Fat Greek Wedding. Have a pimple Windex it! Same idea.

Oh well, only time will tell if my experiments work.

-Bodhi

Sources for this post
1) “Apple Cider Vinegar for Acne.” Removing Blackheads Guide. Web. 13 Apr. 2011. <http://www.removing-blackheads-guide.com/apple-cider-vinegar-for-acne.html&gt;.

2) “Apple Cider Vinegar and Weight Loss.” Apple Cider Vinegar Benefits…The Many Uses and Amazing Health Benefits of ACV. Web. 13 Apr. 2011. <http://www.apple-cider-vinegar-benefits.com/apple-cider-vinegar-and-weight-loss.html&gt;.

3) Weil, Andrew. “Can You Lose Weight with Apple Cider Vinegar? – Ask Dr. Weil.” DrWeil.com – Official Website of Andrew Weil, M.D. 12 Nov. 2009. Web. 13 Apr. 2011. <http://www.drweil.com/drw/u/QAA22860/can-you-lose-weight-with-apple-cider-vinegar.html&gt;.

